Belichick was ‘wrong’ FG play wasn’t penalty

Updated: October 21, 2013, 2:39 PM ET


By
Mike Reiss | ESPNBoston.com


New England Patriots coach Bill Belichick took defensive lineman Chris Jones off the hook Monday, admitting he was “wrong” when he said Sunday he didn’t believe his team committed a penalty on a pivotal missed field goal attempt by the New York Jets in overtime.

Belichick said after Sunday’s 30-27 loss to the Jets that he didn’t think it was a penalty against Jones for pushing a teammate on Nick Folk‘s 56-yard field goal attempt because Jones wasn’t on the second level of the defense.

Given another chance after the penalty, Folk converted from 42 yards with 5:07 left to give the Jets the win. Folk attempted and made two field goals in regulation against the Patriots as well. New England did not use the same technique on the prior field goal attempts, however.

Jones took responsibility after the game, but in revisiting the play on his weekly day-after-game conference call Monday, Belichick changed his stance.

“On the field goal play at the end, Chris is obviously trying to do the right thing by stepping up and taking responsibility,” Belichick said. “But that’s not his responsibility. That’s ours. I just have to do a better job of coaching that. That’s not his fault.”

The Patriots had used the same play — with the same two players (Jones looping behind Will Svitek) — on the New Orleans Saints‘ 39-yard field goal on Oct. 13 with 2:24 remaining in the game. No penalty was called then.

The Saints made their attempt to make the score 27-23. But if the officials had called a penalty, the Saints could have extended the drive and possibly run out the clock so the Patriots wouldn’t have had a chance to win the game late, which they did when Tom Brady connected with Kenbrell Thompkins on a 17-yard touchdown strike, giving New England a 30-27 victory.

On Monday, Belichick was asked a follow-up question on the play in the game against the Jets, specific to his remarks Sunday about Jones not being on the second level.

“Obviously we are wrong,” he said, before adding: “It’s our job to understand the rules. Whatever the bottom line is, we didn’t do it properly.”

Asked whether it was a spur-of-the-moment type of decision by Jones, Belichick turned things back to the coaching staff.

“We’ve got to coach it better. What he did was basically what he was being told to do,” he said.

  • Covered Patriots since 1997
  • Joined ESPN in 2009

Leave a comment

300-101   400-101   300-320   300-070   300-206   200-310   300-135   300-208   810-403   400-050   640-916   642-997   300-209   400-201   200-355   352-001   642-999   350-080   MB2-712   400-051   C2150-606   1Z0-434   1Z0-146   C2090-919   C9560-655   642-647   100-101   CQE_Exam   CSSLP